Our Board and Staff

The Executive Board of NLG-LA, elected each December by NLG-LA's membership, is responsible for fundraising and governing the finances, operations, and programmatic work of the organization.  The Executive Board (currently 35 members) meets monthly to discuss the organization’s business and programs, and communicates on a regular basis through an email list serve. The Executive Board, at its first meeting of the calendar year, elects an Executive Committee comprised of two co-Presidents, a Vice President of Communications, Vice President of Membership, Vice President of Web Development, and Treasurer.  The Executive Committee is tasked with governing the staff and day-to-day operations of the organization.  

Many of our Board members are members of the organizations and associations we work with, or are members of the communities of color that are most impacted by our country’s systems of injustice.  Our board members participate in the Guild's programmatic work through their membership on committees or on special projects.

2017 List of Board Members:



Maria Hall & Gilbert Saucedo, Co-Presidents Alexei Hong Bob Myers
Erin Darling,  Immediate Past President Barbara Hadsell John Michael Lee
Dickran Sevlian,  Secretary Ben O'Donnell Kat Choi
Jay Shin,  Treasurer Carol Sobel Kyle Todd
  Colleen Flynn Laurie Traktman
  Cynthia Anderson-Barker Matthew Strugar
  Daniel Ortiz-O'Neill Olu Orange
  Emi MacLean Pasquale Lombardo
  Eric Post Patrick Dunlevy
  Gary Silbiger Renee Amador
  Helen Sklar Sri Panchalam
  Jennifer Canales Tarek Shawky
  Jessie Duncan Victor Narro
  Jim Lafferty, Executive Director Emeritus